The Public League’s final 2016-17 basketball rankings


Whitney Young junior guard Justin Boyd celebrates one of his five 3-pointers in the Class 4A state championship game.

The year-end rankings include teams’ final records and their preseason rankings. You can find the complete final standings here.

1. Whitney Young (27-7) 5

The Dolphins defeated Simeon in overtime to win the Class 4A state championship.

2. Simeon (30-4) 2

The Wolverines finished second in Class 4A. They edged Morgan Park 68-64 in the city championship game.

3. Morgan Park (26-6) 3

The Mustangs won the Class 3A state championship.

4. Orr (23-5) 8

The Spartans won the Class 2A state championship.


16 Chicago Public League basketball players named to 2017 IBCA Class 3A/4A all-state teams


Curie guard Elijah Joiner

The Illinois Basketball Coaches Association has announced its Class 3A/4A all-state teams.

You can view the full team here.

The following are the Chicago Public League’s players who have been honored.

First team: Whitney Young senior forward Lucas Williamson, Curie senior guard Elijah Joiner, Morgan Park junior guard Ayo Dosunmu and Simeon senior guard Evan Gilyard.


Second team: Simeon junior forward Talen Horton-Tucker and Simeon junior guard Kezo Brown.

Third team: Whitney Young junior guard Javon Freeman and Curie senior guard Allante’ Pickens.

Fourth team: Kenwood senior forward Manny Patterson and North Lawndale senior guard Carlos Hines.

Special mention: Rickover senior guard Simisola Adebosin, Westinghouse senior forward Coreyoun Rushin, North Lawndale senior forward Martrell Barnes, Farragut senior guard Kawanise Wilkins, Morgan Park senior center Lenell Henry and Brooks senior guard Quentin Shields.

The Public League’s basketball rankings (March 12, 2017)


Whitney Young senior Lucas Williamson scores vs. OPRF.

1. Simeon (28-3) 1

The Wolverines handled Marist and Thornton comfortably to reach the Class 4A Illinois State Supersectional. They will play Edwardsville and 6-foot-5 senior guard Mark Smith, who is poised to win Illinois Mr. Basketball. Smith scored 45 in Edwardsville’s sectional final win.

2. Morgan Park (23-6) 2

The Mustangs prevailed in the fourth quarter against St. Rita. They must beat Hillcrest (22-7) for a second time this season to reach the state semifinals.

3. Whitney Young (24-7) 4

The Dolphins defeated OPRF to win the Class 4A Proviso East Sectional final behind the excellent play of their five-guard lineups. They will play Evanston (28-3) in the Chicago State Supersectional on Tuesday night.

4. Orr (23-5) 5

The Spartans are the Class 2A state champions. They won their final three games of the season — a supersectional, state semifinal and state final — by an average of 25.3 points.

5. Curie (25-4) 3

The Condors’ season ended with a loss to OPRF in the Class 4A Proviso East Sectional semifinals.

6. North Lawndale (23-8) 6

North Lawndale’s season ended with a loss to Fenwick in the Class 3A Fenwick Sectional championship.