Red-West players stand out in CPLBCA all-star game, prove a point about West Side basketball


Marshall’s Jarvae Tate throws down a slam in the CPLBCA all-star game.

By: Eric Van Dril   |   April 11, 2017

The Red-West’s list of accomplishments this past season is long and impressive. Its six teams won 108 total games, five regional titles and two state championships.

It was the deepest conference in Illinois.

But Westinghouse forward Dexter Reed and Orr seniors Alex Flute and Sam Williams all felt the same way on Saturday afternoon. They were eager to prove a point. They said they wanted to win the second of three CPLBCA all-star games — the one they all played in — in order to show that the West Side was the best side this season.

“We said we’re going to go out there, have fun and win,” Reed said, of his team’s mentality. “With us being from the Red-West, the best conference in the state, we wanted to prove it today.”

The North-West squad beat the South-Central 134-120 on April 8. It built a 17-point lead in the first half, but Vocational guard Marzell Tiffith (36 points, 9 rebounds) brought the South-Central back.

The North-West pulled away down the stretch of the second half, however.


By | April 11th, 2017|Basketball, Marshall, North Lawndale, Orr, Westinghouse|

The Public League’s final 2016-17 basketball rankings


Whitney Young junior guard Justin Boyd celebrates one of his five 3-pointers in the Class 4A state championship game.

The year-end rankings include teams’ final records and their preseason rankings. You can find the complete final standings here.

1. Whitney Young (27-7) 5

The Dolphins defeated Simeon in overtime to win the Class 4A state championship.

2. Simeon (30-4) 2

The Wolverines finished second in Class 4A. They edged Morgan Park 68-64 in the city championship game.

3. Morgan Park (26-6) 3

The Mustangs won the Class 3A state championship.

4. Orr (23-5) 8

The Spartans won the Class 2A state championship.


The Associated Press’s Class 1A & Class 2A all-state teams (2017)


Orr’s Raekwon Drake (25) boxes out DePaul Prep’s Perry Cowan.

Two players from the Chicago Public League, Uplift’s Demarius Jacobs, and Orr’s Raekwon Drake, have been named to the Associated Press’s Class 1A and Class 2A all-state teams.

Here are the full lists of players selected.



Noah Frederking, Okawville (6-4, Sr., G) 95 (unanimous selection)
Tyler McCormick, Colfax Ridgeview (5-10, Sr., G) 76
Jordan Doss, Chicago Hope Academy (6-6, Sr., G) 68
Jered Cain, Patoka (6-2, Sr., PG) 61
Drew Gibson, Effingham St. Anthony (6-3, Sr., G) 57



Cory Miller, Mendon Unity (6-3, Sr., G) 54
Chaz Sardin, Peoria Quest (5-10, Sr., G) 47
Will Clausel, Newark (6-4, Sr., PG) 47
Seth Ramsey, Gallatin County (6-2, Sr., G) 38
Jameel Alausa, Chicago University (6-7, Sr., F) 30


By | March 14th, 2017|Basketball, Orr, Uplift|